Web Developer Briefs: Linux, XML, Webby Awards

Web Developer Briefs: Linux, XML, Webby Awards

Tightening the Linux embrace

Linux is expected to receive a major boost when several key hardware vendors step up their support for the open-source operating system at the LinuxWorld conference in the US.

IBM, Hewlett-Packard and Linux Systems are all due to make major Linux-related announcements. As part of its announcement, HP will ship a developer's release of Linux for its HP 9000 servers and demonstrate some key software tools from its HP-UX version of Unix running on the open-source operating system.

The show also may see the re-emergence of Linux as a credible contender for the desktop. US-based Eazel will demonstrate its new desktop environment and online system update service for Linux. In addition, Sun Microsystems will showcase StarOffice, its personal productivity suite for Linux, Windows and Unix.

XML Business Process scheme planned

In the US, the Business Process Management Intiative (BPMI) has been formed by 16 companies to define XML-based standards for the management of business processes that span heterogeneous applications, corporate departments, and business partners.

The first project the group is working on is BPML (Business Process Modeling Language), an XML schema that provides a standard way to model business processes.

BPMI said that BPML is designed to bridge the gap between legacy IT infrastructures and emerging B2B collaboration protocols such as RosettaNet, BizTalk, and ebXML by covering many dimensions of business process modeling, including business rules, security roles, distributed transactions, compensating transactions, and exception handling.

Webby Awards seek entries

Nominations are now being accepted for the annual Webby Awards, judged by the US based International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS).

Deadline for entries is December 15, and submission information, rules, and an entry form are available at the Webby Awards' Web site.

This year's competition will include two new award categories: Church and State. For the first time ever Webby Awards will be presented for Best Spirituality Site and Best Government and Law

Follow Us

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.


ARN Innovation Awards 2022

Innovation Awards is the market-leading awards program for celebrating ecosystem innovation and excellence across the technology sector in Australia.

EDGE 2022

EDGE is the leading technology conference for business leaders in Australia and New Zealand, built on the foundations of collaboration, education and advancement.

Show Comments