SAP Australia reveals Young ICT Explorer winners

SAP Australia reveals Young ICT Explorer winners

Featured 874 students across six states showing off a combined 371 projects

SAP Australia has revealed the winners from its Young ICT Explorers competition.

During a six week period, covering six states, SAP hosted seven Young ICT Explorer competitions where 874 students from years 3 - 12, presented a combined total of 371 projects.

The not-for-profit event aims to encourage innovation and passion for technology among youngsters. It is backed by Digital Careers, and sponsored by Intel and Deloitte. The competition assesses student projects against creativity, uniqueness, quality, level of difficulty and project documentation.

Some Year 11 and 12 winners have been approached for internships by companies such as SAP, HP, IBM, and UXC Oxygen.

This year’s winning projects included a Raspberry Pi innovation enabling users to better care for their friends and family (by Year 5/6 students in NSW); an RPG style game aimed at raising awareness of pollution among younger generations (by Year 7/8 students in QLD); a system designed to capture environmental information such as light, humidity and sound (by Year 11/12 students in VIC); and an automatic computer-powered plant watering system that is controlled based on multiple datasets (by Year 7/8 students in NSW).

The winners:


  • Year 3 – 4: Arden Anglican School, SAFECROSS Driveway Warning (by Jessica Clark, Tyler Jackson & Rachel Gibson)
  • Year 5 – 6: SHEN and MLC School, Modelling Heart Disease (by Isabell Dahlke, Kay Dahlke, & Sophie Ogilvy)
  • Year 5 – 6: Roseville College, Always Close Pi (by Sophie Allen & April Draney)
  • Year 7 – 8: International Grammar School, Plants vs Zombies (by Maya Braun & Max Meyer)
  • Year 9 – 10: Mosman High School, When That (by Callum Predavec)
  • Year 11 – 12: Chatswood High School, School Bytes: E-learning platform (by Blake Garrett)


  • Year 3 – 4: St Michael’s Collegiate, Robotic Maze (by Lily Schuecker-Rush, Sarah Gilmour & Alexandra Belbin)
  • Year 5 – 6: The Friends’ School, New Programming Language (by Alex Boxall)
  • Year 9 – 10: Taroona High School, Taroona High School App (by Johann Burgess)
  • Year 9 – 10: New Town High School, Intel Edison Heart Rate Displace (by Joshua Butler)
  • Year 11 – 12: Claremont College, Library Door Counter (by Ethan Phillips, Josh Brumby and Shea Bunge)


  • Year 3 – 4: Doncaster Gardens Primary School, Robotic Table Soccer (by Christian Lai, Kiarash Abbasi & Andrien Lo)
  • Year 5 – 6: Independent Entry with Ball Sports, An Interactive Guide (by Dylan Beaumont)
  • Year 7 – 8: The King David School, TechBoat and TechCar (by Tomer Bareket, Blake Sharp & Ben Lesser)
  • Year 7 – 8: Belgrave Heights Christian School, WW2 aircraft scene (Ethan Hubbard)
  • Year 9 – 10: John Monash Science School, The Lucky Block Minecraft Mod (by Alex Socha)
  • Year 11 – 12: John Monash Science School, Sensoring JMSS Project (by Dylan Sanusi-Goh, Anirudh Mittal, Ethan Payne, Pavel Zakopaylo)

Queensland (Townsville)

  • Year 3 – 4: The Cathedral School of St Anne and St James, My Dog (by Drew Carmichael)
  • Year 5 – 6: The Cathedral School of St Anne and St James, Be A Hero – Save the Planet (by Thomas Dallimore)
  • Year 5 – 6: The Cathedral School of St Anne and St James, Life as an Ant (by Talia Havenaar)
  • Year 7 – 8: Ignatius Park College, The Omniverse Project (by Hayden Dunlop, Sebastian Petrie & Brandon Mackay)
  • Year 9 – 10: Whitsunday Anglican School, School Administration System (by John Hatfield, Jake Magro & Ryan Olsen)
  • Year 11 – 12: Ryan Catholic College with InstantTechInfo (by Jason Hill)

Queensland (Brisbane)

  • Year 3 – 4: Oakleigh State School, The World's Big Problems ( by Haemish Lander-McBride, Aman Theslow, & Andy Sansness)
  • Year 5 – 6: St Francis Xavier Primary School, Growing to Trade (by Matthew Foley, Marcus Russell, & Charlie Brown)
  • Year 5 – 6: Good News Lutheran School, Find the Treasure (by Mia Ghobrial, & Kayla Malherbe)
  • Year 5 – 6: Ironside State School, Pollution Runner (by Archie Buckingham)
  • Year 7 – 8: Mansfield State High School, Swift (by Neel Dave)
  • Year 9 – 10: Indooroopilly State High School, Alarm detection for the Deaf (by Brendon Duncan)
  • Year 11 – 12: Brisbane Girls Grammar School, 3D Maps for Industry (Imogen Low)

Western Australia

  • Year 5 – 6:Singleton Primary School with Terrascape Mix, A Scratch Game (by Brodie Hayes & Caio Stirling)
  • Year 7 – 8: Lumen Christi College, Martin with Obstacle Detection Device (by Dylan Storer; Shayden Bettridge; Denzel Harding & Lachlan Cunniffee)
  • Year 9 – 10: Scotch College with Travel Share (by Raqhav Khanna)
  • Year 11 – 12: Christ Church Grammar School with Gyro Glove (by Jason Chu & Hector Claude Morlet)


  • Year 3 – 4: Canberra Girls Grammar School with Bin It Right (by Lucy Galland)
  • Year 5 – 6: Canberra Girls Grammar School with Speak for the Animals who Can’t (by Lauren Faulder, Evie Lane and Emily Nguyen)
  • Year 5 – 6: Canberra Girls Grammar School with No Texting While Driving (by Caitlin Richards)
  • Year 7 – 8: Canberra Grammar School with MailAlert (by Jack Carey)
  • Year 7 – 8: Kooringal High School with BrainLoad (by Lachlan Wordsworth)
  • Year 9 – 10: KidTechnic with Robocup Junior Rescue Maze League (by Rory Wade and Ines Kusen)
  • Year 11 – 12: Canberra College with Musaco (by Aidan Sawers, Tomasz Stowowczyck and James Callaway)

Follow Us

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags HPIBMSAP AustraliaYoung ICT Explorers of the YearUXC Oxygen

Show Comments