Malcolm Turnbull announces new ministry

Malcolm Turnbull announces new ministry

Includes Mitch Fifield as new communications and arts minister and minister assisting the prime minister for digital government

Malcolm Turnbull announces new ministry

Malcolm Turnbull announces new ministry

Newly appointed prime minister, Malcolm Turnbull, has officially named his new cabinet. There are plenty of new faces and an increased number of women in the cabinet.

From a technology point of view, the key appointment of communciations minister was a shock: Former assistant social services minister, Mitch Fifield, has been given the positions of communications and arts minister and minister assisting the prime minister for digital government.

He appears to have little background in technology.

Former senior cabinet ministers, Joe Hockey, Kevin Andrews, Eric Abetz, Ian Macfarlane, Bruce Billson, and Michael Ronaldson, have all been given the boot from cabinet and replaced by a new frontbench line-up.

Turnbull has named a full-force cabinet of 21 (up from 19) that includes the country’s first female cabinet minister within treasury, the first female defence minister, as well as the first indigenous MP as a member of the executive council.

Former social services minister, Scott Morrison, now is the new treasurer, relegating Hockey to the backbench. Parliamentary secretary to the prime minister, Christian Porter, fills in the position of social services minister as a result of Morrison's promotion.

Paul Fletcher, who was second to Turnbull as parliamentary secretary to the minister for communications, is now territories, local government and major projects minister. Jamie Briggs gets upgraded from being assistant infrastructure and regional development minister to cities and built environment minister.

Mal Brough also makes a move from outside ministry to defence materiel and science minister.

Michaelia Cash was promoted to cabinet to the position of employment minister, stripping Abetz of his title, while Marise Payne becomes the inaugural female defence minister, replacing Andrews. In another first, Ken Wyatt steps in the cabinet as Australia’s first indigenous government frontbencher in his assistant health minister role.

Ian Macfarlane was stripped off his minister for resources, energy and northern Australia title, which got presented to assistant treasurer, Josh Frydenberg. Small business minister, Bruce Billson, was dumped and replaced by Kelly O’Dwyer, who will also hold the position of assistant treasurer.

Michael Ronaldson’s minister for veterans affairs and special minister of state portfolio has been handed to former assistant minister of defence, Stuart Robert, while parliamentary secretary to the education and training minister, Scott Ryan, is now assistant cabinet secretary.

Arthur Sinodinos, previously a backbencher, now takes on the role of cabinet secretary. Simon Birmingham has also been given a promotion, having gone from assistant education and training minister to education and training minister.

Steven Ciobo moves from parliamentary secretary to the minister for foreign affairs, and parliamentary secretary to the minister for trade and investment roles, to become minister for international development and the Pacific.

Anne Ruston, who was deputy government whip in the senate, is now assistant minister for agriculture and water resources, while former parliamentary secretary to the social services minister, Concetta Fierravanti-Wells, has been appointed to the role of assistant minister for munticultural affairs.

Fiona Nash also gets an upgrade, from assistant health minister to rural health minister. Christopher Pyne becomes industry, innovation and science minister. He was previously education and training minister.

Peter Dutton, Mathias Cormann, Sussan Ley, Warren Truss, Julie Bishop, Alan Tudge, Andrew Robb, Greg Hunt, and Nigel Scullion all retain their positions.

Michael Keenan, Barnaby Joyce and George Brandis, all take on expanded roles, with Keenan’s portfolio including minister assisting the prime minister for counter terrorism; Joyce’s including water resources; and Brandis’ encompassing government senate leader.

Turnbull called the alterations a "process of renewal".

Follow Us

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags governmentMalcolm TurnbullchangecabinetMinistry

Brand Post

Show Comments