WIreless Hall of Fame inducts four

WIreless Hall of Fame inducts four

The Wireless Hall of Fame has inducted four more members, including one of Nextel's co-founders.

The Wireless Hall of Fame has inducted four more members, including one of Nextel's co-founders.

Nearly 50 people, from wireless technology pioneers to corporate big shots, have now entered this virtual hall orchestrated by the nonprofit Wireless History Foundation, which formed in 2008. The likes of Marty Cooper, Craig McCaw and current FCC Chair Tom Wheeler are among past inductees.

MORE: Whirlwind tour of network & computing's top honors, awards and prizes

A ceremony was held in Las Vegas last week to recognize the newest members of the hall.

This year's honorees:

  • John Kelly -- A mover and shaker in both the carrier and infrastructure industries. He served as president and COO of Atlantic Cellular Company and its affiliate, Hawaiian Wireless, as well as President and CEO of Crown Castle International, an infrastructure player. He also played a major role in guiding trade association PCIA. 
  • Sue Swenson -- Under her leadership as President and COO, PacTel Cellular became the first carrier to commit to CDMA technology, which would eventually become an industrywide standard. She also served as CEO and President of Cellular One in the Bay Area, President of Leap Wireless and COO at T-Mobile USA.  She currently serves as chairwoman of FirstNet, which is building a nationwide LTE network for police, firefighters and other emergency responders.
  • Larry Movshin -- An attorney with Wilkinson Barker & Knauer who has served in the wireless industry for over 40 years representing common carriers, land mobile operators, equipment manufacturers, trade associations and private users.  During licensing of the cellular industry, he played a critical role in the settlement process that resolved non-wireline ownership of the Round II and III markets. 
  • Brian McAuley -- Co-founded Fleet Call (changed to Nextel Communications in 1993) and served as President and CEO of this company that challenged the cellular duopoly structure.  He founded NeoWorld Communications (acquired by Nextel), served as senior VP and CFO of Millicom, and is now Chairman of pvdWireless, a private wireless carrier dedicated to serving dispatch-centric customers. 

Follow Us

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Brand Post

Show Comments