New Australian telecommunications society, Tel Soc, makes its first moves

New Australian telecommunications society, Tel Soc, makes its first moves

Telecommunications Association Inc holds out olive branch to ACS after split

The newly incorporated Telecommunications Association Inc. (Tel Soc) has held its first board meeting and announced it is organising a new program of industry lectures and networking events around Australia.

Tel Soc’s mission is to promote knowledge of new developments in telecommunications and its applications including the digital economy.

It will brand these activities under the marketing banner of the Telecommunications Association (Tel Soc). The events will be posted on its newly established website.

Tel Soc is the end result of an action taken by a group of people who ran Telecommunications Society of Australia (TSA) from the time it was absorbed into the Australian Computer Society in 2007.

Earlier this year, this group split from the ACS after deciding the future of the organisation was threatened if it remained within the ACS. The Tel Soc board announced on June 26 it would create a new society.

As such the founding board members are seven former members of the Australian Computer Society’s telecommunications board: Professor Reg Coutts, John Del Papa, Dr Peter Gerrand, Tim Herring, Jim Holmes, Peter Hormann and Graham Shepherd.

In a statement, Tel Soc said a majority of the State and territory convenors for the ACS-TSA had confirmed that they will carry out the same roles for the new society.

They and the Tel Soc board claim to be willing to collaborate with the ACS in the organisation of lunchtime lectures and industry events.

The board stated it has already received encouraging support from industry members of the industry.

It acknowledged a dozen industry leaders and veterans who have championed of the new society. They include: Australia Prize winner, Rod Tucker AOM; four Charles Todd Medallists, John Almgren AM, Trevor Barr, Peter Gerrand and Allan Horsley; Network Insight Institute director, Mark Armstrong; ISOC-AU directors, Holly Raiche and Paul Brooks; industry commentators Paul Budde and Stuart Corner; broadband expert (and former TransACT chief architect.) Robin Eckermann; and the chairman of Engineers Australia’s ITEE College, Peter Hitchiner.

The ACS has no plans to shelve the TSA, despite the creation of Tel Soc.

It commented in a statement on its website in an article entitled: ACS Week In Review: 28 June 2013: "In 2007, the ACS was entrusted with the future of the TSA bringing it in as a Special interest Group (SIG) within the Telecommunications Board. The TSA, with around 170 members, is an energetic group within the 20,000+ membership of ACS. In December 2012 a new director, Dr Ian Oppermann of CSIRO was elected to the ACS Telecommunications Board.

"The change in leadership of the Telecommunications Board is a natural part of the governance process within the ACS and reflects the principles of elected leadership within a voluntary society operating for the benefit of its members. The ACS regrets but respects the decision of the previous TSA board to resign from their positions. The TSA however continues within the ACS. The change in leadership presents an opportunity for a renewed focus for the TSA and to allow the TSA to enter the next phase of its long history."

Follow Us

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags Telecommunications Association Inc

Show Comments