IT Industry Innovation Council announced

IT Industry Innovation Council announced

The group was established by the Federal Government to promote IT innovation that will benefit the economy

The Federal Government’s IT Industry Innovation Council members have been revealed.

Promoting the IT sector as a driving force of innovation, productivity and sustainability will be the main focus of the new committee. The 24 members come from a wide range of IT segments and include representatives from Microsoft, Murdoch University and the Communications Electrical & Plumbing Union.

In a statement, Minister for Innovation, Senator Kim Carr, said the vast experience on offer in the council would ensure that the delivery of objectives to champion innovation through the use of IT.

John Grant, who was announced as chair of the council in May, said in a statement the group would develop a strategic agenda for IT innovation and the application of technology to enhance the broader economy.

Fellow council member and Australian Computing Society (ACS) president, Kumar Parakala, said the organisation supported the council's appointment.

“I think it is a great step forward in putting together a group of people who are from the industry to talk about innovation for the next 3-5 years.”

The first council meeting occurred earlier this week.

Members list:

  • John Grant (chair), managing director, Data#3 and chairman for the Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA)
  • Glen Boreham, managing director, IBM
  • Michael Clifford, Queensland state secretary, Finance Sector Union
  • Professor Peter Cole, associate professor and dean for school of IT, Murdoch University
  • Steve Conolly, vice-president, Siemens IT Solutions & Services
  • Tom Crago, CEO, Tantalus Interactive
  • Bob Cupitt, CEO, The Learning Edge International
  • Peter Dalton, group innovation general manager, Australia & New Zealand Banking Group
  • Belinda Dennett, adviser, office of the Minister for Broadband, Communications & the Digital Economy (Observer)
  • Ros Eason, senior industrial officer, communications division, Communications Electrical & Plumbing Union
  • Tracey Fellows, CEO, Microsoft
  • Mia Garlick, Assistant Secretary, Digital Economy, Department of Broadband, Communications & the Digital Economy
  • Dr Graham Hellestrand, CEO, Embedded Systems Technology
  • Amanda Heyworth, CEO, Playford Capital Pty Ltd,
  • Anne Hurley, CEO, Communications Alliance
  • Jan Janssen, senior vice president, Design and Development, Cochlear
  • Paul Kristensen, executive chairman, Capital Technologies
  • Mike Lawson, general manager, Competitive Industries Branch, Department of Innovation, Industry, Science & Research
  • Kumar Parakala, president and chairman, Australian Computer Society (ACS)
  • Suzanne Roche, director, Smartnet
  • Neville Stevens AO, chairman, National ICT Australia (NICTA)
  • Randall Straw, deputy secretary, department of Innovation, Industry & Regional Development, Victoria
  • Chris Winter, manager of new services, ABC Innovation
  • Dr Alex Zelinsky, director and group executive, CSIRO Information & Communications Technologies Centre

Follow Us

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags John GrantIT Innovation Council


ARN Innovation Awards 2022

Innovation Awards is the market-leading awards program for celebrating ecosystem innovation and excellence across the technology sector in Australia.

EDGE 2022

EDGE is the leading technology conference for business leaders in Australia and New Zealand, built on the foundations of collaboration, education and advancement.

Show Comments