Media releases are provided as is by companies and have not been edited or checked for accuracy. Any queries should be directed to the company itself.

Fortinet earns highest international certification level - Common Criteria EAL-4

  • 16 March, 2005 11:57

<p>SYDNEY, March 16, 2005 – Fortinet – the confirmed market leader in Unified Threat Management and only provider of ASIC-accelerated, network-based antivirus firewall systems for real-time network protection – today announced the company’s FortiGate Antivirus Firewalls and FortiOS firmware received certification for Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 4 Augmented (EAL 4+).</p>
<p>This certification assures customers, in and out of the government sector, that Fortinet’s FortiGate systems have gone through a long and rigorous testing process, and conform to IT security standards sanctioned by the International Standards Organization. Fortinet’s FortiGate-50A, 60, 100A, 200A, 300A, 800, 3000, 3600 and 5001 Antivirus Firewalls and FortiOS 2.80 firmware received Common Criteria EAL-4+ certification.</p>
<p>“The Common Criteria certification of Fortinet’s FortiGate technology is a significant accomplishment because Fortinet has indeed met the rigorous EAL 4+ security standard regarding trust and confidence for their Antivirus Firewalls. I can say this because our lab has independently and formally proven their claims regarding the firewall related security functionality of the FortiGate family of products, as well as their security claims about their internal development and total product support processes,” stated Paul Zatychec, director of the EWA-Canada Evaluation Lab.</p>
<p>“I am pleased for Fortinet’s customers because, in addition to their technology having a significant place in the network protection space, the company has demonstrated a strategic, long-term commitment to the quality of its product development, quality assurance and formal documentation processes,” said Zatychec. “The company was very aggressive in working towards this certification, and achieved it in a comparatively short period of time. Customers who buy Fortinet’s FortiGate systems can rely on the products as trusted security solutions and can be assured that the company will be there to provide full support.”</p>
<p>The Common Criteria for IT Security Evaluations, also known as ISO standard 15408, was developed by the national security organisations of the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, France, Germany and The Netherlands. It provides a broad range of evaluation criteria for many types of commercial and nationally-sensitive government-use IT security products. EAL-4 is the highest mutually recognised certification level.</p>
<p>Common Criteria evaluations involve formal rigorous analysis and testing to examine security aspects of a product or system. Extensive testing activities involve a comprehensive and formally repeatable process, confirming that the security product functions as claimed by the manufacturer. Security weaknesses and potential vulnerabilities are specifically examined during an evaluation.
Fortinet’s FortiGate systems are ASIC-accelerated network security platforms designed to deliver a full-suite of integrated security services in real-time including antivirus, firewall, VPN, intrusion detection/prevention, native content filtering, anti-spam and traffic shaping. The FortiGate family of systems spans the full range of network environments – including all-sized businesses from small offices to large enterprises, managed security service providers (MSSPs) and carriers -- and offers cost effective systems for a best in class suite of ICSA-certified applications.</p>
<p>FortiOS 2.80 is the latest version of Fortinet’s firmware, which offers powerful features such as spyware and antivirus protections combined with intrusion detection/prevention (IDP) and stateful firewall capabilities to deliver Fortinet’s unique Dynamic Threat Prevention. The FortiOS 2.80 firmware also includes antivirus heuristic support to help prevent widespread zero-day attacks for previously unknown viruses, new anti-spam capabilities and enhanced Web content filtering through Fortinet’s FortiGuard Web Filtering Subscription Service. The FortiOS 2.80 firmware is currently shipping with all FortiGate systems.</p>
<p>“Common Criteria EAL 4+ sets the bar for security certification and as such, is widely-acknowledged and respected across the industry and around the world,” said Ben Teh, Fortinet’s Australian Manager. “We are pleased that our FortiGate systems and FortiOS firmware have earned this prestigious certification, which provides assurance that Fortinet meets the most stringent requirements of government and enterprise customers.”</p>
<p>For more information on Fortinet’s Common Criteria EAL-4+ certification, please visit:</p>
<p>About Fortinet (
Fortinet is the confirmed leader of the Unified Threat Management market. The company's award-winning FortiGate™ series of ASIC-accelerated antivirus firewalls, winner of the 2004 Security Product of the Year Award from Network Computing Magazine and the 2003 Networking Industry Awards Firewall Product of the Year, are the new generation of real-time network protection systems. They detect and eliminate the most damaging, content-based threats from e-mail and Web traffic such as viruses, worms, intrusions, inappropriate Web content and more in real time – without degrading network performance. FortiGate systems are the only security products that are quadruple-certified by the ICSA (antivirus, firewall, IPSec, NIDS), and deliver a full range of network-level and application-level services in integrated, easily managed platforms. Named to the Red Herring Top 100 Private Companies, Fortinet is privately held and based in Sunnyvale, California.</p>
<p>For more information</p>
<p>Yvonne Cheong, Fortinet +65 6838 5226
David Frost, PR Deadlines Pty Ltd (02) 4341 5021</p>

Most Popular