Software: Reviews

Reviews
  • Review: Office 2016 for Mac offers a new interface and better features

    By Preston Gralla | 02 April, 2015 00:38

    Mac users of Office who have felt left out in the cold by Microsoft (because the last version, Office 2011 for Mac, was released in October 2010) now have reason to be pleased: The preview of Office 2016 for Mac attempts to bring the suite out of the dark ages and into the modern world.

  • First look: Project Spartan, Microsoft's next-generation Web browser

    By Simon Bisson | 31 March, 2015 21:08

    Microsoft's faster release schedule for its Windows 10 Technical Preview kicked into high gear yesterday with the release of another build a mere 12 days after 10041. This time, with build 10049, Microsoft has added one of Windows 10's major new features: its next-generation Web browser.

  • First look: Microsoft's Office 2016 IT Pro and Developer Preview

    By Preston Gralla | 27 March, 2015 05:50

    The first glance at the future of Office for Windows is here, in the form of the Office 2016 IT Pro and Developer Preview. It's the initial public iteration of the suite that will be released sometime in the second half of 2015, so at this point it's very much a work in progress.

  • Review: BitTorrent delivers cloud-free 'Dropbox for business'

    By Serdar Yegulalp | 11 March, 2015 01:20

    BitTorrent originated as a file sharing and distributed download technology, powering downloads of content both legitimate (such as Linux ISOs) and not (Taylor Swift albums).

  • Break me if you can: 4 rugged tablets put to the test

    By Brian Nadel | 03 March, 2015 22:35

    It's a cruel world out there for tablets: Every day, there's the possibility they will be dropped, knocked, spilled on or just shaken around. And that's just in a normal business day -- if you use your tablet outdoors, while traveling or in a work zone, the odds of a disaster go up precipitously.

  • First look: Windows 10 preview for smartphones is off to a slow start

    By Woody Leonhard | 18 February, 2015 22:09

    Last Thursday, Microsoft released its long-anticipated Windows 10 Technical Preview for smartphones. This first public release of Windows 10 for smartphones improves on many Windows Phone 8.1 features, but it offers few compelling new capabilities. Also, while Win10 TP for smartphones is supposed to run universal-style apps (the latest incarnation of what have been called Metro, Modern, and Windows Store apps), there's still little congruence between the new universal smartphone apps and their big-screen universal namesakes.

  • Windows 10 deep-dive review: Finally, a unified operating system

    By Preston Gralla | 29 January, 2015 22:38

    The second preview release of Windows 10 begins to flesh out Microsoft's vision of an operating system that bridges the gap between traditional PCs and touch-based tablets -- something it failed at dismally in Windows 8. More than that, the new release reveals a single operating system that shape-shifts according to the device it's running on, be that a PC, a tablet or a phone.

  • Technology of the Year 2015: The best hardware and software of the year

    By Doug Dineley | 26 January, 2015 22:11

    Like InfoWorld itself, InfoWorld's Technology of the Year Awards have always been about change. We keep an eye out for the platforms and tools pushing against the barriers in application development, mobile, cloud computing, and in other corners of information technology, and we bring them in for review. At the end of the year, we get together and decide which are the very best.

  • CentOS 7: The perfect gift for the Linux do-it-yourselfer

    By Tom Henderson | 22 December, 2014 22:09

    Although differentiation is tough in Linux distributions today, CentOS 7 has carved out a niche as the free and open alter ego to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL). We found that CentOS, which is mandated to be binary-compatible with Red Hat 7, shares about 95% of the features of its commercial enterprise-class sibling.

  • Microsoft PowerPoint for iOS review: Presenter View feature makes the subscription version worth it

    By Joe Kissell | 09 December, 2014 02:43

    When I reviewed PowerPoint for iPad version 1.0 back in April 2014, I found a lot to like but dinged the app for a few notable omissions; I also noted its dependence on a paid Office 365 subscription. Now at version 1.3, PowerPoint for iOS works on iPhones as well, and has adopted a new freemium model (like the other Office apps--Word and Excel) in which most of its features are available even to those who don't pay for Office 365.

  • Microsoft Word for iOS review: This classic word processor shines on every device

    By Jeffery Battersby | 09 December, 2014 01:32

    A few months back, when Microsoft first released Word for iPad, there were wildly varying responses, from, "Who cares and who uses Word any more?" to "I've been waiting forever for this!" to "Wait, what? I have to pay to use this app?" But, no matter what camp you were in, there was one reality: Word for iPad was (and is) an excellent iOS word processor--an Office app for your iOS device that offers substantial document creation and editing tools, with an interface that's clutter-free, so creating and editing documents on your iPad is a cinch.

  • Hands on: Google Maps 4.0 gets even better with a fresh design, Uber and OpenTable

    By Leah Yamshon | 18 November, 2014 02:25

    Google Maps is one of the App Store's unsung heroes, an app you probably use daily, yet you rarely think about or tell your friends to download. That's because for so long it just came with our iPhones--it was there waiting for you to use when you powered up your new phone for the first time.

  • CoreOS: A lean, mean virtualization machine

    By Tom Henderson | 03 November, 2014 22:07

    CoreOS is a slimmed-down Linux distribution designed for easy creation of lots of OS instances. We like the concept.

  • iTunes 12 introduces new look, less intuitive interface

    By Kirk McElhearn | 25 October, 2014 00:47

    It's been two years since the last major update to iTunes, with changes I called "the most radical alterations to the program's interface since its inception." I could use those same words to describe iTunes 12, which features yet another interface overhaul.

  • Yosemite deep-dive review: OS X 10.10 gets ready for the big time

    By Michael deAgonia | 16 October, 2014 23:36

    OS X 10.10, otherwise known as Yosemite, is the 11th iteration of the operating system that powers the desktops and laptops created by Apple. This update, expected to be released later today, marks the second version of OS X whose code name is based on a California location instead of a species of cat -- and the second time Apple has let loose a major update for free.

  • Review: Surface Pro 3 isn't really what enterprises want in a laptop

    By Tim Greene | 11 October, 2014 00:11

    There are a lot of good things to say about Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 tablet.

  • Windows 10 Technical Preview deep-dive: A promise of better things to come

    By Simon Bisson | 10 October, 2014 21:36

    It's been nearly a week since Microsoft announced that it will follow Windows 8.1 with Windows 10 -- and released its Technical Preview so that those interested could take a first look at the new operating system. Since then I've been exploring the new OS, alongside the sparse documentation Microsoft has released.

  • The best new features in Windows Server 10 (so far)

    By Tim Ferrill | 08 October, 2014 21:06

    Alongside Microsoft's Oct. 1 release of the Windows 10 Technical Preview, the company offered early previews of the next iteration of Windows Server and System Center. With final releases not expected until the summer of 2015, these extremely early technical previews are a marked departure from the norm for Microsoft. Far from being feature complete or even stable, the Windows Server Technical Preview nevertheless presents a way to become familiar with new features coming down the pike, and to put the UI changes through their paces.

  • FIRST LOOK: Ray Ozzie's Talko cloud calling/messaging iPhone app

    By Bob Brown | 24 September, 2014 07:14

    I never did use Ray Ozzie's Lotus Notes or Groove (acquired by Microsoft) collaboration tools, mainly because the companies I worked for didn't use them, though I have interviewed the famed software designer and watched his colorful career unfold over the years. So when Ozzie's latest venture, Talko, released its free calling/messaging app for iPhones today, I decided I would give it a whirl and rope my colleague, Michael Cooney, into testing it with me.

  • First impression: The real surprises in iOS 8 are the little things

    By Matt Weinberger | 18 September, 2014 07:49

    Like probably millions of others today, I upgraded my iPhone 5 to the brand-spanking-new iOS 8. I'm still wrapping my head around the major new features, like the problem-struckHealthKit, and I haven't been able to really fiddle with the major camera upgrades yet. But in just a couple of hours of normal usage, it's really the little tweaks to the experience that are standing out to me.

 

Latest News

02:16PM
Greentree partners up with Ndevr to expand its local channel presence
11:54AM
Lenovo takes the wraps off its new channel program
10:12AM
Montech to pursue more acquisitions
09:59AM
Digistor rebrands itself and refreshes its website
More News
22 Apr
2015 Innotribe Startup Challenge
27 Apr
Disruptocon
27 Apr
Disruptocon
27 Apr
Expose The Underground
View all events