Software: Reviews

Reviews
  • Microsoft PowerPoint for iOS review: Presenter View feature makes the subscription version worth it

    By Joe Kissell | 09 December, 2014 02:43

    When I reviewed PowerPoint for iPad version 1.0 back in April 2014, I found a lot to like but dinged the app for a few notable omissions; I also noted its dependence on a paid Office 365 subscription. Now at version 1.3, PowerPoint for iOS works on iPhones as well, and has adopted a new freemium model (like the other Office apps--Word and Excel) in which most of its features are available even to those who don't pay for Office 365.

  • Microsoft Word for iOS review: This classic word processor shines on every device

    By Jeffery Battersby | 09 December, 2014 01:32

    A few months back, when Microsoft first released Word for iPad, there were wildly varying responses, from, "Who cares and who uses Word any more?" to "I've been waiting forever for this!" to "Wait, what? I have to pay to use this app?" But, no matter what camp you were in, there was one reality: Word for iPad was (and is) an excellent iOS word processor--an Office app for your iOS device that offers substantial document creation and editing tools, with an interface that's clutter-free, so creating and editing documents on your iPad is a cinch.

  • Hands on: Google Maps 4.0 gets even better with a fresh design, Uber and OpenTable

    By Leah Yamshon | 18 November, 2014 02:25

    Google Maps is one of the App Store's unsung heroes, an app you probably use daily, yet you rarely think about or tell your friends to download. That's because for so long it just came with our iPhones--it was there waiting for you to use when you powered up your new phone for the first time.

  • CoreOS: A lean, mean virtualization machine

    By Tom Henderson | 03 November, 2014 22:07

    CoreOS is a slimmed-down Linux distribution designed for easy creation of lots of OS instances. We like the concept.

  • iTunes 12 introduces new look, less intuitive interface

    By Kirk McElhearn | 25 October, 2014 00:47

    It's been two years since the last major update to iTunes, with changes I called "the most radical alterations to the program's interface since its inception." I could use those same words to describe iTunes 12, which features yet another interface overhaul.

  • Yosemite deep-dive review: OS X 10.10 gets ready for the big time

    By Michael deAgonia | 16 October, 2014 23:36

    OS X 10.10, otherwise known as Yosemite, is the 11th iteration of the operating system that powers the desktops and laptops created by Apple. This update, expected to be released later today, marks the second version of OS X whose code name is based on a California location instead of a species of cat -- and the second time Apple has let loose a major update for free.

  • Review: Surface Pro 3 isn't really what enterprises want in a laptop

    By Tim Greene | 11 October, 2014 00:11

    There are a lot of good things to say about Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 tablet.

  • Windows 10 Technical Preview deep-dive: A promise of better things to come

    By Simon Bisson | 10 October, 2014 21:36

    It's been nearly a week since Microsoft announced that it will follow Windows 8.1 with Windows 10 -- and released its Technical Preview so that those interested could take a first look at the new operating system. Since then I've been exploring the new OS, alongside the sparse documentation Microsoft has released.

  • The best new features in Windows Server 10 (so far)

    By Tim Ferrill | 08 October, 2014 21:06

    Alongside Microsoft's Oct. 1 release of the Windows 10 Technical Preview, the company offered early previews of the next iteration of Windows Server and System Center. With final releases not expected until the summer of 2015, these extremely early technical previews are a marked departure from the norm for Microsoft. Far from being feature complete or even stable, the Windows Server Technical Preview nevertheless presents a way to become familiar with new features coming down the pike, and to put the UI changes through their paces.

  • FIRST LOOK: Ray Ozzie's Talko cloud calling/messaging iPhone app

    By Bob Brown | 24 September, 2014 07:14

    I never did use Ray Ozzie's Lotus Notes or Groove (acquired by Microsoft) collaboration tools, mainly because the companies I worked for didn't use them, though I have interviewed the famed software designer and watched his colorful career unfold over the years. So when Ozzie's latest venture, Talko, released its free calling/messaging app for iPhones today, I decided I would give it a whirl and rope my colleague, Michael Cooney, into testing it with me.

  • First impression: The real surprises in iOS 8 are the little things

    By Matt Weinberger | 18 September, 2014 07:49

    Like probably millions of others today, I upgraded my iPhone 5 to the brand-spanking-new iOS 8. I'm still wrapping my head around the major new features, like the problem-struckHealthKit, and I haven't been able to really fiddle with the major camera upgrades yet. But in just a couple of hours of normal usage, it's really the little tweaks to the experience that are standing out to me.

  • 4 Windows tablet/keyboard combos take on the Surface Pro

    By Brian Nadel | 16 September, 2014 20:09

    Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 has gotten a lot of attention as a way to bridge the gap between tablets and traditional notebooks. Its snap-on keyboard and pull-out rear stand tries to offer the best of both worlds, but with a 12-in. screen and weighing 1.8 lbs. (without its keyboard cover), the Surface Pro is not as light as it could be, particularly for nomadic workers. And starting at $800 for a system equipped with an Intel i3 with 64GB plus $130 for the Type Cover, it is not an inexpensive system.

  • Kinvey boosts enterprise mobile apps

    By Martin Heller | 10 September, 2014 23:36

    An MBaaS (mobile back end as a service) such as FeedHenry, Kinvey, or Parse is a kind of PaaS (platform as a service) for server-backed mobile applications. Kinvey bills itself as a complete mobile and Web app platform. It has extensive client support, integrates with the major enterprise databases, and offers a back-end data store, a file store, push notifications, mobile analytics, iBeacon support, and the ability to run custom code on the back end.

  • Review: Dell's 13G PowerEdge R730xd, a workhorse server with a kick

    By Paul Ferrill | 09 September, 2014 20:09

    Hardware improvements, rich storage options, and plenty of room for expansion add up to a very fast, flexible 2U workhorse

  • Hands-on: WordPress 4.0 adds useful features to a rich platform

    By Ken Gagne | 05 September, 2014 05:57

    What do Flickr, TechCrunch, eBay and Best Buy all have in common?

  • FeedHenry uses Node.js to fortify mobile apps

    By Martin Heller | 04 September, 2014 00:39

    A few years ago, the mobile enterprise application platform (MEAP) seemed to be the likely answer to the huge challenge of creating groups of mobile applications that work together and integrate with enterprise data. In hindsight, MEAP systems, which typically combined a back-end server and middleware stack with a client application, seem excessively expensive and heavyweight.

  • Chromebook Pixel revisited: 18 months with Google's luxury laptop

    By JR Raphael | 29 August, 2014 03:06

    When you stop and think about it, it's kind of astonishing how far Chromebooks have come.

  • Review: RHEL 7 lands with a jolt

    By Paul Venezia | 28 August, 2014 00:19

    There's a lot to like in the next Red Hat Enterprise Linux, but some fundamental changes may prove problematic

  • A review of Swing Copters: Under no circumstances should you play this game

    By Jon Gold | 22 August, 2014 04:10

    Mercifully, Flappy Bird creator Dong Nguyen pulled his simple, addictive and fiendishly difficult twitch game from the Android and iOS marketplaces after it exploded in popularity earlier this year, but he's back with a new assault on your attention span: Swing Copters.

  • Review: VMware VSAN turns storage inside-out

    By Paul Ferrill | 20 August, 2014 20:04

    VMware's Virtual SAN 1.0 combines easy setup and management with high availability and high performance -- and freedom from traditional storage systems

 
Computerworld
CIO
Techworld
CMO

Latest News

12:58PM
Staples says hack may have compromised 1 million-plus payment cards
10:46AM
Judge questions evidence on whether NSA spying is too broad
08:29AM
Twitter parody of North Korea's mouthpiece not afraid to crow over Sony's capitu...
08:19AM
Three ways enterprise software is changing
More News
05 May
CeBIT Australia 2015
27 May
World Business Forum Sydney
View all events