Products: Reviews

Reviews
  • Samsung ATIV Book 9 (2014 Edition) review: This laptop sounds as gorgeous as it looks

    By Michael Brown | 15 July, 2014 22:53

    Based on the way most laptops sound, I'd venture a guess that audio is the last thing engineers think about when they design laptops. In fact, I'd go one step further to speculate that marketing efforts drive most laptop builders' decisions to collaborate with audio companies. But I won't lump Samsung's 2014 ATIV Book 9 in that crowd, because it sounds absolutely divine--especially with headphones.

  • Samsung Gear Live: It's the world's best smartwatch, but probably not for long

    By Jon Phillips | 15 July, 2014 05:25

    The Gear Live is the best smartwatch I've ever used--but that's not a remarkable achievement considering all the crappy-to-middling efforts we've seen from Samsung, Sony and Qualcomm. If I were being generous, I'd say Samsung finally landed on a simple, wrist-friendly interface that does away with messy nested menus and convoluted features like voice calling.

  • HP Pavilion x360 review: A mediocre hybrid laptop in a pretty red case

    By Michelle Mastin | 23 June, 2014 23:01

    As any bloviating tech pundit will tell you, tablets are poised to take over the mobile computing space. Meanwhile, back in the real world, few of us are willing to part with actual keyboards. Lenovo recognized this early and rolled out the Yoga. HP is the latest manufacturer to follow its lead with the Pavilion x360, a laptop with a hinge that allows its keyboard to fold all the way to the back of its display to become a chunky tablet.

  • Sync, store and share data with Transporter Sync

    By Keith Shaw | 18 June, 2014 06:50

    The scoop: Transporter Sync, by Connected Data, about $100 (plus cost of external storage drive)

  • Lenovo ThinkPad 10 tablet (preview)

    By Elias Plastiras | 28 May, 2014 13:46

    Lenovo’s latest tablet for corporate users makes use of the Intel Atom (Bay Trail) platform and is available in both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows 8.1. It’s a tablet with a 10in form factor and it has a 10-point, multi-touch display that uses IPS (in-plane switching) technology, and it serves up a Full HD resolution.

  • Toshiba Satellite P50t-BST2N01: The first laptop to boast a 4K display

    By Michael Brown | 22 May, 2014 23:20

    Toshiba's Satellite P50t boasts two important firsts: It's the first laptop to feature a 4K display, and it's the first to be Technicolor Color Certified. You likely have at least a passing familiarity with 4K video, but I would argue that the latter claim to fame--which you might never have heard of--deserves more praise.

  • Dell Latitude E7440: Hefty to carry, but a joy to use

    By W. Bryan Hastings | 19 May, 2014 23:13

    While taking notes for my review of Dell's latest business notebook, I repeatedly found myself saying "Well, on the other hand..." The Latitude E7440 is bulky for a 14-inch Ultrabook-- it's almost a pound heavier than Lenovo's X1 Carbon Touch. On the other hand, it's super tough. You could drop it on the sidewalk and it'd still deliver the sales projections for tomorrow's meeting. It's outfitted with both HDMI and DisplayPort. On the other hand, you'll need to carry a VGA adapter to connect it to the old video projector in the boardroom. Its battery croaks after just 4.5 hours. On the other hand, it's removable, so you can swap in a spare.

  • Linksys WRT1900AC: The best open router yet

    By Serdar Yegulalp | 19 May, 2014 20:04

    Linksys' ambitious, prosumer-grade Wi-Fi router is pricey compared to the classic WRT54G router that inspired it, but it comes with a great feature set

  • Hands-on with the hand-polished Leica T camera

    By Tim Hornyak | 09 May, 2014 20:21

    Leica's new T-System digital camera may have one of the most tedious ads ever made, but the camera's looks are far from boring.

  • MacBook Air: A little faster, a little slower, a little more affordable

    By James Galbraith | 06 May, 2014 23:54

    There's not much new about Apple's updated MacBook Air lineup. Fortunately, the Air was already a top-notch portable computer. The subtle increase in processor speeds, along with a respectable decrease in price, are obvious positive steps for consumers. And while the faster processor did help the new MacBook Air in our application tests, the flash storage didn't always perform as well as we've come to expect.

  • Review: Affordable videoconferencing for real conference rooms

    By Yardena Arar | 24 April, 2014 23:12

    With a high-performance camera and separate audio module, the Logitech CC3000e conquers rooms too large for most off-the-shelf videoconferencing products

  • Olloclip's 3-in-1 macro lens opens up a whole new tiny world

    By Serenity Caldwell | 16 April, 2014 03:00

    The iPhone 5s has an excellent array of hardware and software features that make it a great tool for taking photos, but there's only so much it can do with a fixed lens and a digital zoom. Olloclip's line of clip-on accessories do quite a lot to improve this problem, letting you play with zoom, focus, and image manipulation. While I've had fun playing with the company's 4-in-1 model in the past, my current obsession is its new specialty macro kit--a 3-in-1 lens with 7x, 14x, and 21x macro magnification.

  • HP Spectre 13 x2: This hybrid falls short of the hype

    By W. Bryan Hastings | 26 March, 2014 13:07

    HP's latest 2-in-1 detachable hybrid breaks some new ground: It's a notebook PC with a spacious, high-res 13.3-inch screen you can pull off its keyboard base. Once separated, the Spectre x2 becomes a thin and light tablet--at least for its size. But the whole is less than the sum of its parts.

  • Acer Iconia A1-830 Android tablet review

    By Tony Ibrahim | 21 March, 2014 13:52

    Acer's Iconia tablet is looking to take on Google's Nexus 7 and Apple's iPad Mini for its stake of the low-end tablet market. The 7.9in tablet packs an Intel CPU, a 5MP camera and a sub-$250 price that should pique people's interest.

  • Lenovo's ThinkPad X1 Carbon Touch: A lightweight contender

    By Brian Nadel | 21 February, 2014 11:36

    We test Lenovo's latest ThinkPad X1 Carbon Touch ultrabook, which is sleek and powerful, offers an impressive display and comes with an interesting keyboard innovation.

  • Lenovo ThinkPad X240: A no-nonsense business laptop

    By Michelle Mastin | 03 February, 2014 14:54

    If Lenovo's spendy ThinkPad X1 Carbon is the laptop every corporate drone craves, Lenovo's thrifty ThinkPad X240 is the laptop their employer is more apt to spring for (assuming, of course, that the company's IT department has standardized on Lenovo and not Dell, HP, Toshiba, or some other commercial laptop builder).

  • The Toshiba Q Series Pro SSD delivers top performance at a discount

    By Jon L. Jacobi | 17 January, 2014 16:03

    Many capable SSDs are out there, but don't overlook a relative newcomer: Toshiba's Q Series Pro. Toshiba's drives are among the very fastest we've tested, and in an unusual development, we saw no drop in performance in its smaller capacities. Throw in heavy online discounts, and you have an excellent bargain in a top-performing drive.

  • Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon: An enterprise-class notebook to fall in love with

    By W. Bryan Hastings | 06 January, 2014 14:36

    ThinkPads have been a class act among business laptops since IBM launched the line over two decades ago. As a Lenovo brand, they remain pricey, but they're also exceptionally easy to carry and comfortable to use. The ThinkPad X1 Carbon Touch stands out even from its forebears.

  • Wacom Cintiq Companion Hybrid: Android graphic tablet tries to do too much

    By Serenity Caldwell | 03 December, 2013 00:12

    I'm a huge fan of Wacom's multitouch and pressure-sensitive tablets, and it thrilled me to see the company taking its first foray into building its own tablet computers, the Cintiq Companion and Cintiq Companion Hybrid. For years, Wacom has licensed its technology to Windows laptop manufacturers; to see the company selling its own computer hardware is an exciting step.

  • Lenovo IdeaCentre Flex 14 review: A consumer-oriented convertible laptop

    By Yardena Arar | 27 November, 2013 13:41

    Lenovo manufactures a lot of notebooks, but the supremely thin ThinkPad X1 Carbon and Lenovo's notebook/tablet hybrid, the IdeaPad Yoga 11S have achieved near-icon status. The IdeaPad Flex 14 takes design cues from both, resulting in a relatively slim, modestly priced 14-inch laptop.

 

Latest News

01:03PM
Good Technology launches enterprise mobility suites
12:31PM
Telstra fixed line access price consultation begins
11:11AM
Telstra to send 671 jobs to Asia
10:44AM
World first Braille mobile phone launches in Australia
More News
25 Jul
Dell Connected Security: Listen to what the experts have to say about security
29 Jul
SplunkLive!; Canberra
05 Aug
Systems Technology Day - Build Your Own Private Cloud
06 Aug
Oracle Employee Experience Journey Mapping Workshops
View all events