Apps: Reviews

Reviews
  • Word for iPad: The new standard for Microsoft's word processor

    By Jeffery Battersby | 04 April, 2014 08:22

    It took less than 5 minutes of using Word for iPad to have an overwhelming first impression: I hope Word on every platform becomes what Word on the iPad is. Sleek, uncluttered, well organized, and beautiful, Word for iPad is impressive. An app that encompasses everything great about the desktop application, with none of the clutter. If Word for iPad is in your future, it's an app I expect you'll love to use.

  • Excel for iPad: The best spreadsheet app for the iPad

    By Rob Griffiths | 04 April, 2014 06:16

    There are any number of spreadsheet apps available for the iPad, but recently the market changed dramatically when Microsoft released the full Office suite for iPad, including a version of Excel. While you can argue that Excel is many years late to the iPad party (and I wouldn't disagree), the iPad version of Excel is a solid entrant, and instantly changes the landscape for competitive apps.

  • iTunes Radio: Poor reception

    By Christopher Breen | 05 March, 2014 14:17

    With the approach of iTunes Radio's six-month anniversary, now seems as good a time as any to take a second look at the service.

  • Staff Picks: Forget Flappy Bird, you want to play Threes

    By Serenity Caldwell | 12 February, 2014 21:27

    We love iOS apps, but there's a lot of junk and cruft out there. Our Staff Picks column separates the great from the mediocre, offering our expert advice on the best apps, games, tools, and programs in the iOS App Store.

  • CanOpener review: Apps makes your iOS music through your headphones sound better

    By Brian Beam | 05 February, 2014 19:40

    I spend lots of time listening to music on my iPhone. I don't consider myself an audiophile but I'm always on the lookout for ways to tweak the quality of the audio coming out of my device. The built-in iOS Music app provides quite a few stock equalizer settings to choose from, and I've looked at a few other audio-enhancing music apps, but I can't help thinking that there's something better out there. So I thought I'd give GoodHertz's $3 CanOpener--for Headphones a spin.

  • Paper: It's the best way to use Facebook

    By Caitlin McGarry | 04 February, 2014 20:34

    Facebook gave itself a much-needed makeover for its 10th birthday , but you won't see a change unless you know where to look. The overhaul is part of Paper, a stand-alone iOS app that's part News Feed, part newsreader.

  • Vellum: App offers a sleeker way to build ebooks

    By Serenity Caldwell | 08 January, 2014 16:07

    Since the early days of the .epub and .mobi formats, writers and publishers have been trying to find better ways to make ebooks. Some writing apps included primitive built-in options. A few design apps offered limited-functionality exports. But few apps have thoroughly focused on building ebooks.

  • Grilly the Cheese review: Live life as a wandering grilled cheese sandwich

    By Roman Loyola | 08 December, 2013 19:25

    Piasa's Grilly the Cheese is a side-scrolling runner game where you play as a grilled cheese sandwich.

  • Perfectly Clear iOS photo editor both stuns and underwhelms

    By Jackie Dove | 15 August, 2013 22:32

    Perfectly Clear 3.3, the latest update to Athentech's universal image editor for the iPhone and iPad, seeks to distinguish itself from a raft of similar programs on the strength of its algorithms. While it provides some of the same image editing tools as its competitors, and is the fuel behind SmugMug's Camera Awesome, its unique and powerful method of improving flawed images often sets it apart from the crowd. But not always, at least not on the first go.

  • Hands-on: Quip, the so-called 'modern word processor' is cool, but doesn't feel done

    By Jared Newman | 31 July, 2013 18:52

    A new app called Quip bills itself as a "modern word processor", built primarily for phones and tablets with collaboration in mind.

  • 10 terrific apps for last-minute travel

    By Jasmine France | 18 April, 2013 15:16

    Planning a spur-of-the-moment trip doesn't have to be a hassle. Whether you want to plot a weekend getaway at the last minute or you need to book same-day travel to attend a business meeting, the proper tools can make the task quick and stress-free. In fact, when you have the freedom to take off at a moment's notice, you may even be able to score some killer deals.

  • Ridiculous Fishing for iOS lives up to its name, but in a good way

    By Cassandra Khaw | 26 March, 2013 18:14

    Ridiculous Fishing, a universal app for iOS, is the story of a fisherman who is uniquely committed to piscine genocide: he riddles his catches with bullet holes.

  • App review: 2013 Australian Open for Android

    By Nermin Bajric | 14 January, 2013 13:36

    The 2013 Australian Open app not only provides real-time information on scores, schedules, news, and players, there is also a Live Coverage feature that allows you to stream matches live on your phone. You'll never have to miss another Sharapova grunt again!

  • The Best Apps for Android and iPhone, 2012 Edition

    By Armando Rodriguez | 27 June, 2012 13:57

    A smartphone is only as good as the apps you have on it. We've filtered Android’s Google Play store and the Apple App Store to select the most useful and fun apps for your phone. Check out our picks for the top mobile utilities, entertainment software, news apps, productivity tools, and games available today.

  • Phone and driver: Apps for your car

    By Anne Kandra | 23 June, 2012 14:38

    If you're like a lot of folks, today's still-shaky economy is pushing you to live more frugally--including keeping your car on the road as long as possible. And with gas prices bouncing around $4 a gallon in many areas, the last thing you need is to get hit with pricy repairs, traffic tickets, or other unexpected auto-related expenses.

  • First look: Amazon Cloud Player app

    By Christopher Breen | 12 June, 2012 20:45

    In a world dominated by Apple’s media efforts, other means of purchasing and consuming media are sometimes overlooked. One such means is Amazon MP3 and its accompanying Cloud Player.

Get exclusive access to ARN's news, research and invitation only events.
ARN Distributor Directory
ARN Vendor Directory
Microsites

iAsset is a channel management ecosystem that automates all major aspects of the entire sales,marketing and service process, including data tracking, integrated learning, knowledge management and product lifecycle management.

 

Latest News

02:26PM
Splunk exec defects to tech disruptor Elasticsearch
12:48PM
JCurve acquisition to boost telco play following $A2.5m capital raising
11:16AM
Vodafone tackles FIFA World Cup with $5 roaming in Brazil
10:47AM
Kim Dotcom says he's set to get assets back
More News
24 Apr
The China Healthcare ICT Conference 2014
05 May
CeBIT Australia 2014
06 May
Oracle Day 2014 - Across 2 Cities
06 May
Oracle Day 2014 - Across 2 Cities
View all events